Blogging & Self Taught Strategies

At present, technologies get involved in almost all aspects of our daily lives, such as communication and collaboration. Within the era of web 2.0, the growth of the social media technology like Facebook or Twitter really have great impact on how people express themselves in both public and private spaces. This also changes the way people interact to each other as well as establishing online communities.

Illust. by Sarun Y.

Illust. by Sarun Y.

Creating a blog is another effective way on how to build up your personal presence. You can think blogs as diaries in which you can share thoughts, ideas and experiences to yourself and other readers. Unlike static websites, blogs allows users to update and access wide ranges of contents. With the same interests, this might articulate to the part where you and the readers establish networks and communities together.

Personally, I choose to create my blog for sharing things that I am interested in from other sources and my own experience. This might inspire or help other readers in some ways, and it is the part that I develop connections with them. To obtain readership, my strategies can be listed as follow:

  • Create a usual blog post that contains both text and images. With the usage of related images, they provide the readers some ideas on what my post is going to be about before reading the full post.

  • Embed information links or place external links for readers. This is to help them having a better understanding about the posted content as well as providing extra resources for those who want to find out more for the specific context that they are interested with.

  • Use social media to spread the range of my blog post as considering to reach different types of audiences in different communities.

  • Be active to the readers’ feedbacks by replying back to their comments as well as giving my chances to give comments to other blogs. Apart from building my digital presence, this is where I can interact and connect other readers (e.g. exchanging ideas, sharing information upon the same interests).

Many blogs are specifically created to target different groups of audiences. This is based on their contents and the way that they present them (e.g. pure text, infographic, text with embedded videos). Among the existing blogs, I decide to pick three of them as great blog examples, including:

The decision is made upon how I often access them and how their contents relate to my interests (technologies and science). Those mentioned blogs are not just to keep me up-to-date with the current trends but also provide inspirations / motivations.

About Sarun Y.

A Thai student who continues his master degree in IT at Queensland University of Technology (Brisbane). Love drawing and think it as another effective way to convey the message to his audiences.

8 comments

  1. Yep multimedia blog entries will be more attractive to the readers, usually lengthy words are dull….How come people will watch the blog post with full of text! 😐

    • Hi Kinson,

      I think it depends on bloggers’ styles. Some of them might feel comfortable with text telling/explanation while others might want to clarify more about their own posts instead of pure text. Personally, I believe that using visuals in the blog posts are able to reach more readers due to the variant in factors that affect the readers’ concentration levels. This is also like what you stated in your tips (http://bit.ly/13c83Jn), including formatting and pictures :).

  2. Good work, this is well written, and I also like your sample blogs. I look forward to reading more.

    • Thank you, John. I think that we might find more and more interesting discussion topics and ideas along the way of our blogging journeys :). Looking forward to your new posts too.

  3. Hey Sarun,

    I like the way you laid your blog out. It is simple and straight to the point. Putting the tags as well at the end of your blog caught my attention, as that is one main area I missed out. I will keep this in mind from now on. Looking forward to more of your blogs in the future 🙂

    • I am trying to keep things simple as possible for my readers and myself. About adding tags, I personally think that it might be useful for our audiences to find us through their searches either in WordPress or other web search engines (e.g. Google, Yahoo, Bing) as well as providing options for them to explore further related context in other blog posts. This is also possible that the audiences are able to find your blog and my blog within the scope of their topic interests :). Thank you for your visit, Cedric. I will look forward to your further posts too.

      Note: Here is an optional reading about WordPress tagging (http://bit.ly/aBbw4a). You might find it interesting or help you to maximize the performance of your blog from some of the given tips.

  4. Hi Sarun
    Thanks for commenting on my blog! I just read your blog and also really think you did a nice job. I just learned about making links (which I see you do to) which really makes your blog look nice and creates a sense of thorough preparation behind your post. I also really like how you answer the topic of the week by stating your answers in bullet points – which I think makes it easier for the reader to jump right to your points. Your comment on using different types of ways to present your content is also a brilliant idea. I guess I am one of those people who get bored with studying long full text pages so I think you are on the right track with your ideas. Well enough from me, looking forward to reading your next post and hopefully we can get a nice debate going soon, as I must say that I pretty much agree with everything you said so far 
    Best regards from Lisa

    • Hi Lise,
      Apart from the bullet points, I want to point out about what I have noticed from your blog as well. Using bold text and underlines are alternatively great ways to emphasize your headings or even key words within the content that you try to convey significant messages to your audiences. Also, this can come into the form of hot links (in text citations with hyperlinks) as Sirous and Jason have already mentioned in INB/INN 346 Facebook group (http://on.fb.me/130puC2). From above, I can see that you have applied them with your blog post very well 🙂 . I want to thank you for visiting my blog and hope that we can learn more from each other in further posts as well as our blog readers.

Leave a Reply

